AprPAD Day 4–The Sense and Sensibilities of Retirement

THE SENSE AND SENSIBILITIES OF RETIREMENT

. . . . . Inspired by I Give Up My Identity by Jerome Rothenberg

My life is smaller than it sounds.
I work and polish it until
a light shines through
,
and I question
the sense in retirement.
Retirement from what: commuting?

I still commute to the shops for milk,
having decided
against tending a cow, and
I still commute to the shops
for the daily paper,
having decided
against creating my own

preferred sort of news, and
I still commute to the shops for flour,
having decided
I prefer marigolds
over a lawn of spelt wheat.
So I work and polish my way
through his retirement,

much as I’ve done my entire
working life. And the light that used
to shine at night below the door
of his study, now
shines only when
the weather turns sunny.

.
.

Wrriten for Miz Quickly’s Day 4 prompt: Work
Poem form: Cento-inspired Poetry,

7 thoughts on “AprPAD Day 4–The Sense and Sensibilities of Retirement

Your comments and feedback are welcome!

